Catch Your Cold

Evans The Death

Catch Your Cold

SLR 180 » released October 2012

» $4.50
DIGITAL » Apple Music |  Amazon |  eMusic
1. Catch Your Cold
2. Crying Song

Following-up their critically acclaimed self-titled debut album, Evans the Death return with their third single in the form of "Catch Your Cold," one of the highlights of their excellent LP. One of the first songs written by the band, guitarist Dan Moss says of "Catch Your Cold": "The sentiment behind it is pretty simple. I like the ending, we mucked about with different tape speeds and delays to try and take the listener on a psychedelic journey." Insanely catchy and bursting with youthful energy, "Catch Your Cold" is the kind of tune that makes you realize that there is still plenty of joy to be found in good old guitar pop. Look out too for B-side "Crying Song" for which the band persuaded comedian Stewart Lee to sob uncontrollably over their rambunctious musical backing.

Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas's Under Milk Wood, Evans the Death comprise of Dan Moss (guitar, vocals), Katherine Whitaker (vocals, keys), Olly Moss (guitar), Rob Mitson (drums), and newest member Lan McCardle (bass) - original guitarist Matt Gill having left the band following the completion of the album. The band document and channel the exuberance of youth via the prism of five pop music obsessives, gleaning inspiration from all of the music with which they grew up. They draw as much from the lyrical dexterity of Morrissey and Jarvis Cocker, as to the scuzzed-up melodic exuberance of early My Bloody Valentine and The Pixies. Following the release of their instantly acclaimed debut single "Thread" / "I'm So Unclean" and the equally brilliant second single "Telling Lies", Evans the Death have been given extensive airtime on BBC Radio 1 and BBC 6Music, as well being made John Kennedy's 'Xposure Big One' on XFM. The release of their album saw the music press sit up and take interest, with great reviews in Q, The Fly and Uncut, plus support from This Is Fake DIY and Drowned In Sound. The band recently held the audience at Indietracks in their thrall with another of the thrilling, exhilarating shows with which they're blazing a trail through 2012 and beyond.

"Smart and gutsy to: a clatter and pummel underscoring Katherine Whitaker's sweet, yet punchy vocals.  Evans the Death make humdrum everyday existence sound quite magical." -- Q

"There's sharp songwriting at play here. The hooks are all in the right place, brash and urgent in the very best way." -- This Is Fake DIY

"a wonderful marriage of converse elements elegantly crafted into its own neat mess" * -- Artrocker


All copies on white vinyl with a cool silver-embossed sleeve.

A co-release with Fortuna POP! records in Europe. Please support your local indie label.

nice color

see also » Vanilla LP/CD

see also » Expect Delays LP/CD

see also » Evans The Death LP/CD

see also » Telling Lies 7"

« back to Evans The Death